Tourism Awards adds Glamping

Pic: VisitEngland
Pic: VisitEngland

VisitEngland has added a new category to its national tourism awards. The ‘Glamping Provider of the Year’ category will celebrate excellence in glamping provision in the 2017 round of awards. To be eligible to enter, businesses must be an individual or a multi-unit glamping-only site, have a non-traditional and alternative feel, provide hot water, private bathroom facilities and private cooking facilities to each unit and must be open for business at some point between 17 October 2016 to 24 February 2017. Applications will open in late August with an awards ceremony in April 2017.

Where there is a local (county or regional) awards programme, businesses must apply to the regional programme first where a glamping category exists. Winners at county or regional level are then eligible to be put up for the national awards. In some cases finalists are also put forward to the national level. If there are no awards in a particular location then glamping businesses can apply directly to the national awards. Details on each region will be posted at in coming weeks.

Open Air Business has made enquiries to the national tourism boards of Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales but has not been able to ascertain whether glamping will be included in their respective award programmes.

About Open Air Business 1380 Articles
The voice of outdoor hospitality - in print and online. If you liked this article, subscribe to the printed magazine here. We produce industry e-news between issues - please sign up here

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.